Inuit and Government Partners

In achieving its mandate, the Nunavut Marine Council (NMC) will continue to rely upon the close partnerships its individual members have developed with a range of other bodies that have roles and responsibilities in relation to Arctic marine areas. One of the foundations of the Nunavut Agreement (NA) is the co-management system of resource management, in which Institutions of Public Government (NWMB, NPC, NIRB & NWB), Inuit and Government strive to work cooperatively to conduct and commission research, and to provide information, advice, recommendations and approvals. The development of such partnerships has been crucial to the individual successes of each of the NMC Members during the last two decades and is essential in the work undertaken by the NMC.

The NMC’s main Inuit partners

Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (NTI):

Represents Inuit under the Nunavut Agreement. NTI’s mission is to foster Inuit economic, social and cultural well-being through the implementation of the NA.

The three (3) Regional Inuit Associations (RIAS):

Represent Inuit living in Nunavut’s 27 communities. The presidents of NTI and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association, the Kivalliq Inuit Association and the Kitikmeot Inuit Association comprise the executive committee of the NTI Board of Directors.

The three (3) Regional Wildlife Organizations (RWOs):

The Qikiqtaaluk Wildlife Board, the Kivalliq Wildlife Board and the Kitikmeot Regional Wildlife Board: Represent the Hunters and Trappers Organizations in each of the three Nunavut regions. The RWOs help to manage harvesting, and to regulate harvesting practices and techniques, among the members of HTOs in the regions.

The twenty-seven (27) Hunters and Trappers Organizations (HTOs):

Represent the Inuit hunters and trappers in each Nunavut community. In concert with the NWMB and the Regional Wildlife Organizations (RWOs), the HTOs oversee the exercise of harvesting by Inuit under the terms of the NLCA.

The NMC’s main government partners

Department of Environment, Government of Nunavut (DOE):

Responsible for the protection of Nunavut’s environment and the sustainable use of its renewable resources. DOE’s mandate addresses the management of terrestrial mammals, including polar bears, caribou and muskox. It also develops and maintains territorial parks and conservation areas. DOE’s legislative responsibilities include, among other statutes, the Nunavut Wildlife Act.

Department of Economic Development and Transportation, Government of Nunavut:

The Department of Economic Development and Transportation was created in 2004 under the second mandate of the Government of Nunavut. The role of the department is to support the participation of the people of the territory in the development and growth of the Nunavut economy.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Government of Canada (DFO):

Manages fish and marine mammal stocks, protects their aquatic habitat, and conducts research and gathers information to protect and conserve marine and freshwater environments and their resources.

The Canadian Wildlife Service, Government of Canada (CWS):

Handles wildlife matters falling within federal jurisdiction, including the protection and management of migratory birds, nationally significant habitats and species at risk. CWS also does research in many fields of wildlife biology. In addition, Environment Canada’s Parks Canada Agency oversees Nunavut’s national parks – Auyuittuq National Park, Sirmilik National Park and Quttinirpaaq National Park.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC):

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) continues to renew the nation-to-nation, Inuit-Crown, government-to-government relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit and Métis; modernize Government of Canada structures to enable Indigenous peoples to build capacity and support their vision of self-determination; and lead the Government of Canada’s work in the North.

Transport Canada (TC):

Responsible for the promotion of a safe and secure, efficient and environmentally responsible transportation system in Canada. Safety and security activities include aircraft service, civil aviation, marine safety, marine security, rail safety, road safety, security and emergency preparedness, transportation of dangerous goods, rail and urban transit security.

Canadian Coast Guard (CCG):

Owns and operates the federal government’s civilian fleet, and provides key maritime services to Canadians. The Oceans Act gives the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the CCG responsibility for provides aids to navigation, marine communications and traffic management services, icebreaking and ice-management services, channel maintenance, marine search and rescue, marine pollution response, and, support of other government departments, boards and agencies by providing ships, aircraft and other services. The Canada Shipping Act gives the Minister responsibilities and obligations regarding aids to navigation, search and rescue, pollution response, and vessel traffic services.